Florida A&M University
Department of Physics
Home Contact Us Florida A&M University

About Florida A&M University

Florida A&M University, one of eleven institutions in the State University System, is a co-educational, fully accredited institution of higher education. The main campus is spread over 419 acres located on the highest of seven hills in Tallahassee, the state capital. Since the fall of 2005, FAMU has offered 108 undergraduate degrees in 64 undergraduate programs and 60 graduate degrees in 32 graduate programs (including 1 professional and 8 doctoral degrees) within its 12 Schools sand Colleges.

Along the way we have picked up several awards. In 1997, FAMU was selected the Time magazine/Princeton Review College of the year. Black Enterprise, in 2006, selected FAMU as the #1 university for African American students to attend.


Patricia A. Stampe
Ronald L. Williams
Lewis Johnson
Elliott A. Treadwell
Robin J. Kennedy
Ray H. O'Neal, Jr.
Mario R. Encinosa
Richard Appartaim
Kalayu Belay

Keith Jackson

The faculty, staff and students in the dept. of physics conduct research in over 40,000 sq. ft. of space that houses state of the art equipment. The faculty investigators have received nearly $40 M in federal and state funding to support their research activities.

I'd like to invite you to consider the persuit of graduate degrees in physics, particularyly the Ph.D. degree

Dr. Keith Jackson, Vice President of Research and Professor of Physics.


Charles A. Weatherford

The Florida A&M University (FAMU) Dept. of Physics is in the midst of a period of rapid progress. A new Ph.D. program, in addition to our existing B.S. and M.S. programs, in Physics, started in the Fall of 2001.

The research facilities and productivity have expanded at a rapid pace since that time. Undergraduate and graduate student support, including tuition support, is available for qualified students.

Dr. Charles A. Weatherford
Chairman Department of Physics.