Florida A&M University
Department of Physics
Home Contact Us Florida A&M University

Contact Us

Department of Physics
Room 205 Jones Hall
Florida A&M University
Tallahassee, FL 32307
Fax: (850) 599-3557

For general information and questions please call Ms. Sonja Richardson (850) 599-3470 or email sonja.richardson@famu.edu.


Mogus Mochena
Joseph A. Johnson III
Charles A. Weatherford
Lewis Johnson
Richard Appartaim
Mario R. Encinosa
Halina Niculescu
Kalayu Belay
Elliott A. Treadwell

Keith Jackson

The faculty, staff and students in the dept. of physics conduct research in over 40,000 sq. ft. of space that houses state of the art equipment. The faculty investigators have received nearly $40 M in federal and state funding to support their research activities.

I'd like to invite you to consider the persuit of graduate degrees in physics, particularyly the Ph.D. degree

Dr. Keith Jackson, Vice President of Research and Professor of Physics.


Charles A. Weatherford

The Florida A&M University (FAMU) Dept. of Physics is in the midst of a period of rapid progress. A new Ph.D. program, in addition to our existing B.S. and M.S. programs, in Physics, started in the Fall of 2001.

The research facilities and productivity have expanded at a rapid pace since that time. Undergraduate and graduate student support, including tuition support, is available for qualified students.

Dr. Charles A. Weatherford
Chairman Department of Physics.