Florida A&M University
Department of Physics
Home Contact Us Florida A&M University

Faculty Profiles

Richard Appartaim Richard Appartaim

163 Centennial Building (CePaST)
Tel: (850) 599-3809
Email: richard.appartaim@famu.edu

Ph.D. Physics - Imperial College, University of London, 1993

High density, high temperature plasmas are copious sources of short wavelength radiation, particularly in the extreme ultra-violet to soft x-ray spectral range. This is a result of several processes that include electron collisional excitation of highly stripped ions and neutral atoms, resulting in the emission of M-, L-, and K-shell sub-keV to keV photons, as well as continuum radiation from free-free and free-bound bremsstrahlung interactions. My research group is interested in producing soft x-rays by using pulsed power devices to drive high currents through X pinches. An array of ultra-fast diagnostic methods allows the full characterization of the plasma dynamics.


Lewis Johnson
Charles A. Weatherford
Kalayu Belay
Richard Appartaim
Patricia A. Stampe
Mark Jack
Halina Niculescu
Ronald L. Williams
Mogus Mochena

Keith Jackson

The faculty, staff and students in the dept. of physics conduct research in over 40,000 sq. ft. of space that houses state of the art equipment. The faculty investigators have received nearly $40 M in federal and state funding to support their research activities.

I'd like to invite you to consider the persuit of graduate degrees in physics, particularyly the Ph.D. degree

Dr. Keith Jackson, Vice President of Research and Professor of Physics.


Charles A. Weatherford

The Florida A&M University (FAMU) Dept. of Physics is in the midst of a period of rapid progress. A new Ph.D. program, in addition to our existing B.S. and M.S. programs, in Physics, started in the Fall of 2001.

The research facilities and productivity have expanded at a rapid pace since that time. Undergraduate and graduate student support, including tuition support, is available for qualified students.

Dr. Charles A. Weatherford
Chairman Department of Physics.